Archinect
anchor

Architecture Practice Act

seeds

Hi,

I am a graduate student. A homeowner asked me to create AutoCAD drawings of his basement. He will submit the drawings to the county architect for approval. My name will not appear on the drawings. In excange for doing the drawings, he will give me a discount on rent in his house. Will I violate the Architects Practice Act if I do the drawings?

Thank you.

May 26, 09 12:47 am
liberty bell

No, but make very sure you have a very clear understanding, even a contract, with him. Sounds like a potentially messy situation!

May 26, 09 7:10 am  · 
 · 

anybody is allowed to do this kind of project. there's really not even any reason not to have your name on the drawings, unless you think it might open you up for some liability later.

agree with lb on the contract. make it official; make sure all parties understand the compensation. a 'discount' sounds slippery.

May 26, 09 7:18 am  · 
 · 
ih1542006

Residential design and working drawings can be prepared by a non architect. Local jurisdictions can require a professional seal at their discretion. Your state board of architects probably has a website with all the published laws regarding practice.

May 26, 09 8:23 am  · 
 · 
seeds

Thank you everyone for your help!

May 26, 09 9:00 am  · 
 · 
seeds

Hi, one more question ... where can I get a contract? Can I write one myself with all of the expectations for both parties and we sign it? Thank you!

May 26, 09 12:28 pm  · 
 ·