Archinect
anchor

Preparing for a summer internship

swisscardlite

Hello all,

I'm an architecture student about to start an internship this summer. What are some ways I can best prepare myself for the job?

I'm a little nervous because I've only had limited previous working experience. And since I'll be paid, I definitely feel the need to perform the best that I can. Any tips out there? Thanks.

May 22, 09 10:03 pm
byen01

I'm sure this advice applies to any type of internship, but bring to the internship a high level of professionalism and be pro-activ(e and pimple free). Depending on the type of firm you'll be working with, be prepared to work with some terrible clients (see: horribly rich, horribly snobby, terrible taste). If you're going to be primarily drafting, perhaps you should refresh your memory on autocad/archicad/revit etc. if you haven't used it in a while.

Also, wear black cardigans. And be as hip as possible haha

May 23, 09 4:10 am  · 
 · 
LucasGray

Be prepared to spend hours working on models and drawings just to have your supervisor change their mind and have you redo them.

May 23, 09 4:15 am  · 
 · 
justavisual

ask questions...dont sit and think forever when you get stumped...

May 23, 09 5:42 am  · 
 · 
Yumtoder

be first to arrive everyday. last to leave. enjoy what you do. don't complain. ask many questions. forget the beach.

May 23, 09 8:20 pm  · 
 · 
commuter

Be enthusiastic and pleasant.

May 23, 09 8:28 pm  · 
 · 
Cherith Cutestory

Don't tell anyone else in your class you get a job, let alone a paying job. Unless you want to get beaten up behind the old barn after school.

May 23, 09 11:36 pm  · 
 · 
byen01

*but feel free to tell all your non-arch friends about said paid job, especially if they've been working for 'school credit' at a non-profit.

May 24, 09 10:39 am  · 
 · 
PodZilla