Archinect
anchor

What is this metal plate use for?

koolarsenal

I'm an architectural student and I have one problem need to be cleared. I hope that all architects around here can help me. 

You can see in the image above there are metal borders on the top of the roof. I dont know what  these metal plates used for. It's just a decoration detail or technical detail? All your comments would be appreciated.

Dec 9, 13 11:10 am
SneakyPete

Flashing. It keeps your building dry where it needs to be.

Dec 9, 13 11:37 am  · 
 · 
DeTwan

That would be flashing.

Metal angles that prevent capillary action that occurs with water and moisture.

Dec 9, 13 11:39 am  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

If you don't learn about it in school, you will learn about it within a month at your first job. It will be less humiliating if you have a comfortable knowledge of what it is, what it's for, and how to detail it.

Dec 9, 13 11:41 am  · 
 · 
More specifically, look up roof edge, gravel stop, and coping as variations on this kind of flashing.
Dec 9, 13 11:50 am  · 
 · 
citizen

I'd call this coping, an important subset of flashing because of its visibility.  (Most flashing you won't see unless you're on the roof.)  And it's not a plate you're seeing, but the exposed vertical edge of a folded piece whose horizontal component is buried in layers of roofing material.

Dec 9, 13 11:59 am  · 
 · 
ark1t3kt

Firestone Detail

Dec 9, 13 12:39 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

go get a copy of graphic standards! The student edition is about 200$. Its is a great resource  to have.  I would also suggest sketching some of the details.  It is much more productive than simply reading through the book. 

Dec 9, 13 12:40 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

i would add "rake trim" to the vocabulary list already supplied

Dec 9, 13 1:26 pm  · 
 · 
koolarsenal

In my country ( Vietnam), we dont usually use  metal flashing ( or coping ? ) so I have no idea what it is. I've learned a lot from all of your comments. Thanks and good luck to you :)