Archinect
anchor

post nominal letters

crgixxer

So as a recent grad, i'm making the shift from summer student to a full-fledged intern. With this, I now get my own business card from the office, which in my youth, I'm probably more excited about this than I should be.

So what is the norm in architecture for the post nominal letters? In other industries, I've seen ppl list everything they can after their name. Can I list my Bachelors degree and the masters degree? or just the masters? Or is it enough to have the intern title alongside the local association?

If it makes a difference, I'm in Canada.

Apr 28, 09 11:22 pm
citizen

This is actually a great question, and not just for Canadians.

The answer has to do with how you'd like to come across, and to whom. Are you trying to impress your youthful cohort, many of whom don't have a master's degree? Or are you aiming to wow a more experienced audience of potential employers and future in-laws? The former will be dazzled by a long string of meaningless letters. The latter will see through that ploy as shallow and desperate.

If you have a master's degree, cite that but not the bachelor's. Cite your job title. And leave it at that.

In my opinion, it's better to have nothing after your name than a string of acronyms few are familiar with. Go for substance, not flash.

Apr 29, 09 2:06 am  · 
 · 
FrankLloydMike

I just got my first business card over the summer, and was also quite excited. Mine has no letters after my name, and neither do those of anyone else in the office, including the principal. It's very clean, and I like it. Some of my friends have tons of letters: Assoc. AIA, LEED-AP, whatever after their names and I think it looks cluttered and silly. I'd rather come across as clean, organized and with a well-designed card than a slew of letters. We're designers, not lawyers or accountants and I think the design speaks the most on our business cards.

Apr 29, 09 11:24 am  · 
 · 
GAWD