Archinect
anchor

Recent Graduate, fulltime offer Need some advice

PewPewPew

Hey everyone, I will be graduating in May and my office wants to sit down and talk about a full time position. I need a little help here. What kind of salary should I be asking for. I have spent 6 years in ARCH school. For five of those years I have worked 30 plus hours a week at various firms. I have great experience, B of ARCH degree in May, half of IDP complete and good ethnics. I am enjoying the work I do now, but work "under the table" so I am contracted basically and have to pay my own taxes...etc..

What do yall think I'm worth?
I know the market is bad, but my office is doing good with work. What kind of increase percentage in pay should I consider since I am now a graduate and will be working 40+hrs a week. 10%? 5%? or or less?

I am tryin to get an idea of the increase of salary I could expect.

Thanks for any advice, help, suggestions..etcc..

Apr 15, 09 9:30 pm
babs

What are "good ethnics" please?

Could you tell us where you are located geographically, and the size of the firm where you work? That info has an important bearing on the answers we might provide.

Since you now work contract and presumably you'll become a regular employee on payroll and with benefits, I don't think you should be thinking in terms of a % increase - you need to be researching market comparables.

Apr 15, 09 10:10 pm  · 
 · 
PewPewPew

I consider Good ethnics, working hard, overtime. Getting projects and assignments done in a timely manner. Taking on more responsibilities etc..
I am in Charlotte at a small firm + - 15 people.

Are you suggesting that I may not get a increase in pay?

Apr 15, 09 10:14 pm  · 
 · 
babs

Do you mean "ethnics" or "ethics" ?

I'm not suggesting anything yet - I don't even know your current pay rate. I'll look up some stuff tomorrow at the office and respond in more detail then.

Apr 15, 09 10:41 pm  · 
 · 
PewPewPew

ha sorry ethics

Apr 15, 09 10:46 pm  · 
 · 
cwh1