Archinect
anchor

silly job description

WTF is a senior intern architect?
if there was ever an oxymoron job title, then this is it.

http://archinect.com/jobs/description.php?id=87239_0_30_0_C

Mar 31, 09 5:35 pm
la_la

I think I'm a senior intern architect. I've been an intern for a long time.

Mar 31, 09 9:30 pm  · 
 · 
Xing

woops, it is a great title! I would love to put it on my cv 5 yrs ago

Apr 1, 09 2:30 am  · 
 · 

i think that this translates as...

"we want someone who is experience and know what they are doing, but we don't want to have to pay the salary of a licensed architect."

Apr 1, 09 9:08 am  · 
 · 
citizen

Bingo, architphil!

The entire ad in three words...

Apr 1, 09 9:29 am  · 
 · 
babs

since when does a licensed architect with 7-years of experience command a materially higher salary than an unlicensed arch. grad with 7-years of comparable experience?

i see this sort of thing on job boards all the time ... i think it reflects the reality that a large proportion of the profession no longer has much interest in obtaining the license.

Apr 1, 09 9:35 am  · 
 · 
FrankLloydMike

that's a pretty silly job description, but I think this one tops it.

Apr 1, 09 11:16 am  · 
 · 
rockandhill

Yeah, in planning... the breakdown is usually something like... junior -> associate -> planner 1 -> planner 2 -> et 3 -> et 4 -> master planner -> commissioner.

I like it because it has an air of aristocratic titles like you'd find in magistrates.

But lately, I've been applying for jobs that are like "assistant junior associate," or "planner 4 intern." It boggles my mind. I've run across a few other positions like "assistant jr. master planner."

But one problem with planning is to be a "junior associate peer planner assistant intern," you still need a masters with 2 years.

Apr 1, 09 11:34 am  · 
 · 
drums please, Fab?

i applied for the senior intern architect!

hire me, ambitious little office!

Apr 1, 09 2:53 pm  · 
 · 
drums please, Fab?