Archinect
anchor

Professional experience for admittance to master of real estate development

Paradox

I'll be getting my BS in Architecture in December and I really want to go to a graduate school for real estate development. I'm searching the schools right now and I see all of them require at least 2 years of full-time professional experience for admission. Right now I only have 6 months of professional experience(construction company) and I'm an intern at a real estate company(part-time) but it is only a 3 month internship. Is not having 2 years of professional experience a total deal breaker or can I still have a chance to be admitted because of my architectural background?

Mar 19, 09 5:26 pm
trace™

Call them.

The one I am applying for (MBA in RE) requires 10 years experience in the profession.

Most business schools will require real world experience.

Mar 19, 09 5:53 pm  · 
 · 
DJ7910

I don't know about all the requirements for professional experience at many of the university's, but it seems to me that most graduate programs do encourage a couple of years of field experience, but isn't always a requirement.

Though, I have to admit it helps to know more about the function of the profession before pursuing grad studies.

I recently completed the Grad Cert in RE Development from Portland State University, which can be rolled in to the MBA at the university. I found the program to be worthwhile and comprehensive. Others you might look at are: ASU, WSU, UoW, Vancouver BC. I was on a team at PSU who competed against these university's on a development contest and they all look to have good programs. We won a couple of years against them though is was very close.

Now is a good time to go after the grad work and wait out the storm for the next year or so and head back in to the mix when everything is on the up swing.

Good luck.

Mar 24, 09 3:31 pm  · 
 · 
BlueGoose