Archinect
anchor

Saskatchewan

le bossman

The Mighty Saskatchewan. Apparently there are jobs there, according to the fake news. Anyone know of any good firms?

Mar 4, 09 4:38 pm
brian buchalski

yeah, good post...i'm curious too.

Mar 4, 09 4:54 pm  · 
 · 
le bossman

no you're not

Mar 4, 09 4:57 pm  · 
 · 
phuyaké

choose your poison: get paid to drink, get paid to play poker, or get paid to possibly grow weed. see you there.

Mar 4, 09 5:03 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

The economies of Saskatchewan and Manitoba haven't slowed, bucking the trend of most other provinces these days (the east coast shows signs of continued growth, too....)

My friend just lost her job at a major bank in Toronto and moved back here to Winnipeg, probably to stay. I know it's just one anecdote, but talking with architects in the city (I'm still a student) they all report there's tons of work. The city is trying to import (construction) workers from other areas of the country because there's so much going on right now.

So it's not all bad. You just have to be able to put up with unbelievably cold weather (and ridiculous winds) and an utter lack of topography. On the plus side, our arts and music scenes are vibrant and accessible, which I think is a huge bonus.

That's all probably too much information, but there you go.

Mar 4, 09 6:47 pm  · 
 · 
gonad

the only good thing about saskatchewan is corner gas.

Mar 5, 09 7:38 am  · 
 · 

I love that show...

Also Alberta is doing pretty good accordign to my sister..

Mar 5, 09 8:20 am  · 
 · 
aquapura

It takes a certain type of person to live in Saskatchewan. Driven through there a few times and it's desolate. North Dakota is booming too, but how many people want to move there? That's what I thought.