Archinect
anchor

Value of Arch Services now

I'm meeting with a potential client that is looking to spend about $80k on the remodel of the back of their house, including a kitchen and master suite, focusing on the kichen and back entrance. I have about three years experience but am not licensed. There would be a lengthy design process. This would be my first job flying solo. How should I hope to configure my contract with them, and roughly how much should I ask for? The project is located in LA.
Thanks in advance!

Feb 22, 09 12:50 pm
archie

Jenda; If you send me your email, I will send you a short (5 page) letter type contract I use with residential clients. It has some clauses that the aia contract does not have, like a limit of liability, and acknowledgment that there will be change orders due to unforseen conditions, etc. I have found it useful to give owners a contract just for the preliminary design phase, then once we determine the scope, I give them a contract for the rest of the work. This gives me a chance to see how easy they are to work with, how long it takes them to make decisions, etc. It also does not seem as daunting for the owner to sign a contract just for the first phase, and it lets them see how they like working with you as well, so it is an easier sell. Your fee is going to depend on the scope of your services, like are you providing interior design and construction contract administration, are these bare bones drawings or fully detailed with every tile location shown. I would say the minimum would be 6 or 7 %, but our fees are usually 10 to 12% for full services. Given the budget you stated, I would say that you are probably looking at a budget job, so the fee scope would be less detailed and the fee lower.

Feb 22, 09 2:42 pm  · 
 · 
Jenda

Thanks for the contract! A further question arises: What might be a reasonable hourly rate for me to quote, especially for any additional services?
Thanks!

Feb 22, 09 6:40 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]