Archinect
anchor

Severely Depressed..I need your advice.

Paradox

You can call me a fool but I'm about to finish my B.S in Architecture and want to get a full-time job in architectural/construction field beginning in summer. I'm a foreigner but I'm a permanent resident.I've lived with my father since I came here to NY but he is going to get laid off in May and going to go back to our native country in summer so I have to find a job and a place to live in a few months. I can't go back to my country because I still have to take 3 classes in next Fall and I DON'T want to go back.So unfortunately I won't have the option to "move in with the parents" when I'm broke. I worked for a company for 6 months but I got laid off in November. I was getting cash so I can't collect unemployment insurance right now. It wasn't just me they paid everybody cash. I know it is so not a good idea to receive cash but I needed the job. That's all the professional experience I have. Since then I've been looking for jobs.I haven't applied to any type of office job since I'm taking 17 credits and they are all day classes but the problem is I can't find any jobs in retail either.I see hiring signs so I go inside and ask if they are hiring,they say "we're not hiring at the moment but we're accepting applications." Same bullshit everywhere. I tried becoming a waitress but I screwed it up because I'm very shy with people I don't know and I'm too clumsy. I've tried internet,especially Craigslist,newspaper,walk-in applications but nothing works. I've sent out about 50-70 resumes and haven't gotten one interview yet. I'm about to finish my savings,too so I have no idea what I'm going to do in this situation. What is the best way to apply for jobs? Because online job boards really don't work..Maybe I should move to another state? For some reason I'm thinking NY/NYC may provide more jobs compared to other states but I don't know. I need your advice.

Feb 17, 09 5:59 pm
Antisthenes