Archinect
anchor

Portfolio content for Internship after one year in M.Arch

BabbleBeautiful

Ok, so I'm in the process of looking for a summer internship. I'm in my 2nd semester of the M.Arch 3 program and I have technically four projects I can put into my portfolio. Three of them are rather abstract, and the last one has to do more with materiality and craftsmanship that has an "architectural" reduction. I also have a scale model that I could use to show my modeling skills.

My concern is what should or can be conveyed through my portfolio taking into consideration my level of education? I don't have any buildings or really good renderings per se, but I do have good photographs and of course, my sketches of some of the process.

Any advice?

Feb 15, 09 9:35 pm
Living in Gin

I assume you've never worked at an architecture firm before, and this is your first internship?

If so, go ahead and use your school projects. No employer would expect you to have any real buildings in your portfolio at this point in your career.

What does your prior work experience consist of?

Feb 15, 09 10:24 pm  · 
 · 
BabbleBeautiful

Right, no prior experience at an arch firm. I worked in IT before I flipped to Architecture.

Feb 15, 09 10:39 pm  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

What software do you know? If you know AutoCAD, Revit, Adobe Creative Suite, any 3D modeling/rendering apps, or Microsoft Office, be sure your prospective employer knows about it.

Feb 15, 09 10:53 pm  · 
 · 
BabbleBeautiful

Of course.

What about any descriptions for the studio projects? Should I just do a brief explanation of the assignment and let the photos do the rest?

Feb 15, 09 11:01 pm  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

Sounds like a plan... Maybe a short paragraph or two describing the objectives for each project, and your process for meeting those objectives. Chances are nobody will bother to read the text, but it's worth having it there anyway.