Archinect
anchor

Interior Design? or Architecture?

light

Dear all,

Has anyone worked in the interior design field?  In this economic climate, is getting an interior design degree allows you to find a job easier and have a more rewardable career in terms of more freedom to design and better salary?

Thanks.

Jun 2, 11 11:20 pm
tbone

I work in the interior design field.  My opinion is that in this economic climate the careers are equal.  A person coming straight out of school with a B.S. in interior design will make a little less than a person coming out with an M.Arch or a B.Arch.  The job prospects are almost equal for both fields.  I know because while in my first job with my terribly low salary and not having any freedom to design, I checked job boards multiple times a day every day.

The beginning jobs are about the same for both fields as far as freedom to design, you have to earn that right with experience.  It also depends on the size of the firm.  A small firm will give you more freedom faster than a big firm.

Better salary: Architecture

Freedom of design: Neither

Cheaper degree: B.S. interior design

Your choice.  But I have worked as an interior designer for 2 years now and I am going back to get my M.Arch this fall.  That's my two cents.

Jun 3, 11 12:50 am  · 
1  · 
gibbost

I'd say a person working in interiors stands a better chance at finding work these days.  The only reason I say that is that, from what I've seen, many clients are choosing to go back and revamp their existing facilities rather than building new.  It seems to me that there will be quite a bit of tenant improvement and finish update type work around for the next few years.

Jun 3, 11 2:06 pm  · 
 · 
light

How about a MFA in Interior Design? Would it make a difference?

Jun 3, 11 4:15 pm  · 
 · 
helenadunn

no difference

Jun 24, 20 12:37 am  · 
 · 
light