Archinect
anchor

how much is experience worth when taking ARE?

atsama

hi all

just looking for some feedback here - now that my state changed the rules and we can take ARE concurrent with IDP, i am thinking of starting, b/c why not try to get some of this out of the way. i have been working at an architecture and urban design firm for almost 5 years. i really like my job. i came here looking to try urban design, and it suits me. however, since one cant be a licensed "urban designer" and i still want to be an architect, since i might not stick with this forever......i am going to get myself licensed. in a booming economy, i might have considered leaving my nice job to get better "arch" experience, but there is no way I am doing that right now. I have gotten through all IDP categories that come before CDs and CA. I have very little CD experience (although, a reasonable amount of DD...) and zero CA.

so here is my question....if i were to start taking ARE at some point during this year....should i only focus on the programming/planning, site design, and schematic divisions? should i not even bother with building systems now? i have worked on several buildings....just not all the way through CDs...

i guess my question is...how much real world CD experience does one need, or could i manage with study guides etc to also get through some of the other divisions?

i would expect that between now and the end of my 5 year rolling clock that i will change jobs/get more CD/construction experience. but i'm eager to get some of the ARE out of the way now.

suggestions/advice?

thanks!

Feb 13, 09 2:07 pm
b3tadine[sutures]

take them all if you can, it's a little about experience, materials and methods, but it's a lot about studying. the graphics vignettes have nothing to do with practice, and structures - nada about experience.

Feb 13, 09 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
marlowe

Take the tests as fast as you can. I compleated all of mine within 2 years of graduation.