Archinect
anchor

I found the perfect firm, how do I convince them to hire me?

Minnow

I've been doing a lot of research into architecture firms that fit the goals I have as an architect and have found one in Vermont that I would give my left foot to be a part of. I have a BARCH, a Masters in Historic Preservation, and will be testing for my LEED AP later this month. Unfotunately, I have no experience in the architecture field and have been working as a preservation intern for the last 3 years. I know the economy is in the toilet right now and no one is hiring, but I am willing to work for minimum wage as long as it is at THIS FIRM. Any suggestions for how to approach these people would be MUCH appreciated!

I'm thinking about starting a blog to showcase my design work and other interests as a way for potential employers to get to know me a bit more beyond what is on my resume. Any ideas on this would be a big help too.

Thanks!

Feb 12, 09 10:20 am
brian buchalski

there are no perfect firms...unless it's your firm...and even then that's more of a maybe than an absolute fact

Feb 12, 09 11:25 am  · 
 · 
BlueGoose

I'd advise looking carefully at their website to see who at the firm would be your best point of contact ... then, pick up the telephone and see if that person will speak with you.

Explain who you are and why you are interested in their firm. I wouldn't necessarily tell them immediately how cheaply you're willing to work, but try to convince them that you have a) the passion, b) the ability, and c) the potential to make a significant contribution at their firm. Focus on facts -- not assertions.

I'm always interested in speaking with young people who have both the passion for and the ability to contribute to our firm's project type. Even if I can't offer that person something right now, I do remember them and pull out their resume when I next start hiring.

Be respectful, but don't be bashful ... what have you got to lose?

Hope it works out for you.