Archinect
anchor

First year student job opportunity

hatchline

I am in my first year of architecture school (pursuing a 5 year M.Arch) and am weighing my options for the summer. Ideally I would like to start working in a firm, but given the economy and and small skill set I have being a first year student, I'm not sure if that would be possible. Do firms usually hire at my level? I looked at my schools career fair line-up and most specify that they recruit some combination of 3rd yr. and up.

My other option is to take a class or two over the summer to get ahead which is what I did last summer. I'm just worried that the lack of job experience may not look as nice on a resume in the future.

Should I pursue finding a job? I'm just a bit discouraged reading about the sh!tty economy and all the lay-offs.

Feb 11, 09 9:03 pm
b3tadine[sutures]

don't waste your time with an architecture firm, go and be a gopher for a construction company, you'll learn more.

Feb 11, 09 9:06 pm  · 
 · 
hatchline

I have thought about that and should consider that option as well as I am interested in design/build.

Another question: How do I go about contacting firms that I would like to work for? Simply send my resume and cv to the appropriate person within, send an email inquiry, or....? Unfortunately, I don't have any immediate contacts within firms.

Feb 11, 09 9:19 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]

why not talk to studio professors in your own school??

Feb 11, 09 9:31 pm  · 
 · 
jackhogan

Definitely would be a great idea to work on a building site

Feb 12, 09 9:31 am  · 
 · 
lletdownl

personally id just go make yourself some money...
i worked at car dealerships during my summer and winter breaks for my first few years... made more money hourly than im making now nearly 3 years out of school...