Archinect
anchor

Ringers filling seats - the facade of having a busy office - or $100 to act like an architect

treekiller
You can earn $100 pretending to be an architect!

according to the Huffington Post.

Has it gotten that bad in tribeca, that a firm is willing to hire a potemkin's village of actors to staff the office for a client meeting?

I smell an opportunity to set up a 'casting agency' to provide lots of folks who 'look like architects' because they really are architects.

Feb 11, 09 10:27 am
Living in Gin

I've always wanted to pretend I was an architect!

Feb 11, 09 10:45 am  · 
 · 
brian buchalski

i've been doing it for years...and i make much more than $100

Feb 11, 09 10:47 am  · 
 · 
narmer

This was done back in the late 80's recession at an office I was affiliated with.
They didn't pay the ringers though, we just had friends from other businesses come in and then everyone had a beer after the clients were gone.

Nowadays, my bosses don't bring the clients to the office, and are free to inflate the firm's staff numbers all they want when responding to RFP's. They also recently trumpeted our new "branch offices" that are just P.O. boxes.

· 
On the fence

If I was one of the architects, I'd have quit.

The shame, the shame of it all.

· 
flipside

Some history here.

Pelli did it often when he was just starting as Dean of Yale.

They would call up the trays, you would bring your studio work over across the street and crank on whenever you were currently working on- this was when maylines (remember them?) were still an item. There were boxes of ties but since they just trolled thru the studio the dress code of the office seemed "eclectic" at best.

Its how the firm started.

And there was no cash- just starvin students gnoshing food and drink after the clients had left...

I heard of similar stunts in other cities with other students of GSD and Penn

Feb 11, 09 10:59 am  · 
 · 
toasteroven