Archinect
anchor

volunteer where?

oooo

i was recently laid off. i have over 10 years of experience, i am not licensed but i am working on it right now, 3 more exams...

i want to apply for a peace corps job and leave after i am done with my exams. i am hoping to get involved with building shelters in any part of the world that needs it.. i am fond of earth construction and all "natural" building methods.

anyway, to apply for the peace corps application i am required to show volunteer experience. i was thinking to offer my services to some good cause and preferably use my architectural skills in the process... the question is, who needs architects?

i am in the detroit area. i am broke, so i have to stay close to home and i can not afford to join any of these volunteer services where you have to pay to participate...

any ideas?

Feb 8, 09 11:13 am
nautilaz

The most obvious answer to local volunteering that involves architecture is Habitat for Humanity. This is free, and usually have these in most cities.

Check twice the help needed for Peace Corps though. From what I remember, the closest offerings they have to architecture work is related to civil engineering- builiding drinking wells, agriculture work, and such. Times may have changed though, as this was 5 years ago.

Other than that, you may want to try Red cross, as they do disaster relief for the US and abroad, which would involve building shelters.

Feb 8, 09 11:43 am  · 
 · 
oooo

thanks nautilaz.

good point about pc, i will try to find out about the exact nature of projects they can involve me in... i noticed on the preliminary application questionnaire there were no direct questions about building, nor was there an option for selecting "architecture" for "educational background" and this did get me a bit concerned.

i am wondering if anyone here knows architects that joined the peace corps and what kind of projects they ended up working on?

Feb 8, 09 5:57 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box