Archinect
anchor

My Professor decision not to allow me to next semester......

marmkid

"yes ,but unless you boiled down the animal hides, hooves to a glue like collagen, made from glue pots that you threw and fired yourself, to build the model with, well it's really cheating, isn't it. "

there is a difference between a first year student physically putting together his model and hiring someone to put it together for him

if in your first year, you think you cant build models well, what exactly are you basing that on?
you need to develop the skills, just like you need to develop drawing and drafting skills
it takes time, and isnt done overnight

Dec 23, 08 12:01 pm  · 
 · 
Dapper Napper

z88, I graduated from UH and remember the "cube project" quite well. Yes, first year is definitely a weed out year and a few of my classmates had to retake first year. Mainly because of similar situations as yours: bad craft/presentation and incomplete work, a killer combination. I didn't have stellar craft, but I did have complete projects that fully conveyed a design solution for both exacting critics and softies. And I took a C+ in my second year for a project that included what I felt to be a stellar model and drawings. i wanted to argue it but I didn't because I realized I had totally missed the intent of the design problem.

Unfortunately, arch school is sooo freaking subjective that yeah, your future depends on what name you choose from the class schedule. Hang in there and accept the help offered, you're not a failure just because you have to repeat.

Dec 23, 08 12:04 pm  · 
 · 
Dapper Napper

And regarding someone else building your models, there was a guy who would have both his girlfriends help him with his. He was a repeater.

Dec 23, 08 12:05 pm  · 
 · 
farwest1

Craft means a tremendous amount to architecture. Craft, precision, and skill are extremely important.