Archinect
anchor

What software is most important to learn?

nikmasteed

If I want to learn two knew design programs, which are the two most important for me to know? I am a recent MArch grad, and I have over a year professional experience, but I am not great at photorealistic renderings in particular. I already know AutoCAD, Sketchup, and Adobe Creative Suite (although my Photoshop skills in terms of architectural rendering are not great), and very basic knowledge of FormZ. I don't think I should bother brushing up on FormZ, and I am leaning towards learning Revit and Rhino. Anything that would make me more marketable than those two programs?

Also, any good tutorial books on any of these programs or Photoshop architectural renderings?

Dec 9, 08 1:51 pm
MArch n' unemployed

revit and rhino, end of story

Dec 9, 08 1:52 pm  · 
 · 
MArch n' unemployed

who doesn't need a little R&R?

Dec 9, 08 1:52 pm  · 
 · 
xtbl

microsoft office

Dec 9, 08 2:00 pm  · 
 · 
xtbl

but yes, i will second revit and rhino.

Dec 9, 08 2:19 pm  · 
 · 
med.

REVIT. I just started using it in my firm, and I have no idea how people still don't use it...

Dec 9, 08 2:22 pm  · 
 · 
difficultfix

I have to recommend Autodesk Ecotect
which is a great design aid as well. Ecotect is great for analyzing your building perfomance.

Daylighting, thermal, PMV,Air Flow (CFD)

Dec 9, 08 8:19 pm  · 
 · 
MArch n' unemployed

when did autodesk buy ecotect? man they are like the plague...cool software though

Dec 9, 08 8:23 pm  · 
 · 
nappy

Revit and Rhino..thought i don't know revit.

Is revit easy to learn?
Also, anyone using T-splines plugin for rhino?'

Also how about Digital project?

Dec 9, 08 9:01 pm  · 
 · 
MArch n' unemployed

revit is easy to learn - approx 1000x easier than DP. but also about 1000x less cool than DP
t-splines is cool, turns rhino into maya, but the plug-in costs more than rhino...sure you can download the trial over and over, but that got old for me fast

Dec 9, 08 9:05 pm  ·