Archinect
anchor

cistern application

EcoArchSefa

I am an entry level architect commissioned by my brother to design a building which is a hybrid of programs-pharmacy/clinic/residential in Ghana/West Africa. I am thinking about collecting rainwater to use as potable water and also for the toilets. My question is whether or not one storage tank/pressure tank could be used for both purpose. Does the tank provide an outlet for multiple uses? I am mindful of the distinct purposes and wouldnt want filtered water going to the toilet etc.. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Nov 12, 08 1:10 pm
MADianito

i would use 2 different tanks, because you would need a filtration system for the one that you want to use for potable water, and the other for toilets does not need the filtering system, and if u do only one with a "bypass" for going thru the filter in one side and toilets the other will need at the end other kind of deposit after the deposit for the potable one.....

so i would go for 2 diff tanks from the beginning

Nov 12, 08 2:58 pm  · 
 · 
aseid

im no expert but couple questions

what is the estimated annual precipiation for the site
what is the peak demand on the building
is there a public water supply or well water?
is stormwater collection roof only, or inclusive of parking lot runoff? (need to know because parking lot runoff requires different treatment method due to petroleum contaminants)

option A: Public Water supply/Harvested Rainwater Hybrid
option B: Well Water supply/Harvested Rainwater Hybrid
option C: All harvested rainwater

if public/well supply, water will enter building into pressurized holding tank prior to dispersal into heating element/cold distribution

if well water that water will pass through a whole house filter and a softener (depending on quality of water) and perhaps a conditioner

if public water, most likely water is sanitized prior to delivery at local treatment facility