Archinect
anchor

At what age?

TenaciousArchitect2b

1st post and externally excited

Hi everyone,

Question: At what age have you started your journey of becoming an architect? Also are you a late starter (late as in late twenties) or do you know someone who switched career to architecture in their late twenties and how are they finding such switch?

Thanks in advance.

Nov 3, 08 7:48 pm
allisfalling

ive wanted to be an architect since i was in the 6th grade...but i up until college i never did anything about it. i guess now that im done with college, its been 4 years since i was 17.

Nov 3, 08 7:56 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Age five. No kidding.

Nov 3, 08 7:59 pm  · 
 · 
difficultfix

I am still a student....I started at 30

Nov 3, 08 8:02 pm  · 
 · 
difficultfix

Will graduate at 34, and then focus on IDP

Nov 3, 08 8:03 pm  · 
 · 
Arzo

early thirties... and as of friday, i am not doing what others tell me to do anymore.

Nov 3, 08 8:17 pm  · 
 · 
liberty bell

Freshman in high school, so I think I was 14 years old, I stopped by the architecture college when visiting my older sister at university because I had always been curious about architecture and was taking drafting classes at school. Was immediately hooked and have never looked back.

Nov 3, 08 10:27 pm  · 
 · 
BabbleBeautiful

I started the journey 2 years ago, applying for M.Arch @ the age of 26.
I just started my first year @ the age of 28.

Nov 3, 08 10:33 pm  · 
 · 
mantaray

17. I was stopped at a red light.

But I do know many who started their journey much later -- you would by no means be alone!

Nov 3, 08 10:50 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

Nov 3, 08 10:59 pm  · 
 · 
PodZilla

When I was 5, my grandmother bought me a set of wood blocks.

It was very FLLW-ish.

I think the first time I heard the word "architect" in conjunction with a career path was probably seventh grade or so.

Nov 3, 08 10:59 pm  · 
 · 
fays.panda

16, entered undergrad, currently in my first job, but i feel realllly young,, so, no worries