Archinect
anchor

Layoffs....layoffs......

Urbanist

holz, many law schools will give loan relief if their grads go into public interest law or otherwise work for a not-for-profit.. that might be a way out of debtors' prison for some of them.

Jun 4, 10 10:33 am  · 
 · 
+i

i'm not going to stop trying to be an architect. i have two arch degrees (professional and post-professional) and taking ARE's now. i LOVE architecture. i'm not going to toot my own horn, but maybe i should for a change dammit- i've won design awards, i've excelled in my profession, and yet here i still am- unemployed. but perhaps an old saying i once heard is ringing true- "make what you love your hobby, not your career".

what is so grim to me, is that i have about 40 more years in the workforce. it will take me approximately 3-4 years to finish law school and my son won't have even entered the first grade yet. in that time frame, even as a licensed architect i won't be making six figures- if i'd EVER make six figures- but yet i could as a lawyer. plus i would have my arch license in addition. everything you learned in architecture school - including defending a thesis- is a very valid skillset for law school. i see the chances as a lawyer MUCH brighter than that in the architecture profession. i have connections to get into law school, and for funding which doesn't include loans. i found out if you go to law school full time you finish in 3 years, part time is 4 years. well shoot... that leaves me with 36 years left to be a lawyer and earn more money in one year than would take me to earn in FOUR as an architect.

i guess i'm thinking more about my future and my family and less about just doing architecture because i'm passionate about it. i'm at a crossroads, and i'm not going to leave my future all to chance.

good luck to all of you.

Jun 4, 10 12:09 pm  · 
 · 
Peter Normand