Archinect
anchor

Architects and their Quality of Life

Alex965

Hi,

I'm another typical student who has pigeon-holed himself into the career of architecture, and I feel like a complete fool. Is being an architect really as bad as people make it out to be?

I'm currently studying A levels in the UK in maths, physics and art, having just dropped chemistry AS yesterday. 

Since I was a kid I wanted to study architecture; I strangely had a misconception that it was a respected trade that rewarded those who worked hard, suited to those who loved to draw to communicate their ideas. I dreamed that I would once be able to sustain a better lifestyle than my parents whom both left college at 16, a lifestyle that has been characterized with stress and debt.
I continued this idea right up until this summer, and have now spent most of the summer reading about the doom and gloom that awaits me after £9,000 pa tuition alongside exceptional workload and long working hours. I understand that most industries - perhaps excluding the good-for-nothing bankers - are affected by the recession. But it seems that being an architect just makes everything worse.
Most folk resort to telling me to do what I enjoy. That's all when and good until it doesn't support a family, and to simply keep a job you must work yourself until you have no free time. 

I would really appreciate some advice. Do you regret becoming an architect? Did you realise the profession would have been such a state when you entered it? 

Sep 3, 13 3:04 pm
SeriousQuestion

I would say that if you are having misgivings at this stage, you're probably going to be questioning architecture all the way through school.  

To a certain extent, you should pursue what you enjoy, but if you've accepted that your professional life is not the end-all, be-all of your existence, and you'd like to earn enough to pursue things beyond just work, pursue something else.

My two cents.  At the end of the day, follow your gut.