Archinect
anchor

Negative space - ideas, concepts or reference

liam477

Hi Guys, 

i am new to the forum and thought that someone on here may be able to suggest some references, books and work on the concept of negative space. I am an undergraduate writing my dissertation on it and have found little information upon it in my university's library. 

Appreciate any information anyone!! 

Liam

Aug 6, 13 10:22 am
curtkram

what is negative space to you?  anti-matter or dark matter sort of negative space?  the space between atoms?  the part of a building where you don't put a wall?  does it exist in 3-dimensions, or can it be described with only 2-dimensions?  can you enclose negative space with an opening?  are you referring to a negative "feeling" a space might encourage?

Aug 6, 13 11:54 am  · 
 · 
gwharton

"Negative" space has a few different meanings, depending on context. Technically, a space is negative if it is convex and positive if it is concave; concavity/convexity defined according to topological rules (a line drawn through the space that can extend infinitely on either end outside the space without intersecting a spatial boundary object indicates convexity, for instance). This technical definition becomes important in urban design, where the distinction between positive and negative space is significant for the perception of urban environments.

Informally, we often hear reference to the space created by the interposition of objects as "negative," but that's really a redundant use of terms. It's a space, created by the relationships of objects, boundary conditions, and our perceptual awareness of their interrelationships. Adding "negative" to the description clouds meaning rather than clarifying it: i.e. it's a way for people to increase syllable count to sound intellectual when talking about something straightforward and intuitive. Adding the adjective should distinguish in a meaningful way, as with the topological definition above. Negative = Convex.