Archinect
anchor

Work in Londong

laistm

Hey, I'm a fresh graduate from India and am doing my masters in industrial design. I was interested in working in London for a couple of years after finishing my masters. How do i go about it? What do i need to qualify for and are there any architects who ca help me out?

Aug 18, 08 10:10 am
mdler

I have a working dong

Aug 18, 08 7:20 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Fresh, indeed.

Aug 18, 08 7:34 pm  · 
 · 
RoedGroed

@laistm

I think you can do a bit more work first and then maybe ask more specific questions?

RIBA might have some useful starter info for you on architecture and pratice/work in the UK. See www.architecture.com

Other than that, I'd just make sure that you're set up properly to get by here in terms of income, savings or what ever.

I wish you good luck

Aug 18, 08 8:44 pm  · 
 · 
laistm

RoedGroed,

Do I need to register with RIBA before practising in the UK?

Aug 19, 08 2:52 am  · 
 · 
legeuse

you just need a general permit to do whatever kind of work in the uk, as far as i know. the body that gets you professionally registered eventually is called a.r.b. again, this is not required although it helps in terms of responsibility and wages.

good luck

Aug 19, 08 9:54 am  · 
 · 
laistm

thanks leguese, I'm planning to gain a couple of years work ex in India then try to work in London. How will that fair in the market there?

Aug 19, 08 3:06 pm  · 
 · 
RoedGroed

@laistm

I'm sorry but I can't answer your questions - I'm a student in the UK and have no idea who you are or how your India professional experience would stack up in the UK. I have heard rumors that a lot of work is coming through from Delhi/Mumbai, that it's going to be one of the next "happening" places, so maybe that would be to your advantage.
I think you should have a look at the RIBA site before answering more questions.
If you want specific feedback on experience/skills, maybe you should post a link to your portfolio?