Archinect
anchor

Is 'working for free' typical in your area?

Arrovitch

I don't hang out on this forum a whole lot ( busy, you know! ), but the little I read seems to include a lot of references to people so desperate to gain some experience that they are willing to work for free in offices, as a student or intern. Is this common?

As a student I was certainly paid in the office I chose to work in; I find it would have literally been impossible to do without even a nominal salary. The students we have in our office now get paid a ‘reasonable’ wage ( define ‘reasonable! ) and we wouldn’t have it any other way – I think it is an important aspect of development and of becoming a committed, responsible professional. ( we generally pay year out Part 3 students a salary of between £12-14K, round about $23-27K US per annum )

Anyhow; that’s a little beside the point. I was merely wondering how widespread this practice was in your area, and if it was expected and typical, in terms of being the only way to gain the requisite experience you desire? Or is it only certain starchitect practices or unscrupulous firms that are willing to take advantage in this manner?

Thanks for any insight.

Jul 29, 08 7:11 am
trace™

Every firm should pay. I certainly never worked for free. However, some firm's have names that will go a long way and offer insight into the unique world of starchitects. Those are few and far between firms.

I would never work for free for experience, but if it helped get jobs in the future, etc., then it could be worth it (as a note, I declined offers to work for free at starchitect's offices while in school, and chose a semi-stararchitect that paid a semi-reasonable fee).

It is all up to the person whether it be worth. I'd say if you can't move across the country/world and have the name be worth something, then you should be paid at least minimum wage.

Jul 29, 08 8:29 am  · 
 · 
legeuse