Archinect
anchor

Progressive / Holistic / Sustainably Focused US / Chicago Firms

Marathon

I am in the process of looking for a new job. I graduated in May 2010 with my MArch, was unemployed for 8 months, and finally landed my current job. I knew it wasn't going to be my dream firm, but based on their website 'marketing', what they stated during my interview, and the acknowledgement of my personal emphasis on an environmentally, socially and economically progressive ethic, the office appeared a solid fit for several years while the economy recovered. Well, the online marketing turned out to be "a foundation" versus applied daily practice, and what was stated in the interview turned out to be false. As I am now looking for a new job, I am very concerned about falling into the same "marketing" trap / repeating my mis-reading of an office, which is why I am soliciting the Archinect community for their opinion on the most progressive, holistic, sustainably focused architecture firms in the US. I don't mean offices that have most LEED APs, or the most LEED certified projects, or the firm that did one super sustainable project but otherwise could care less. I am looking for firms with an ethic and design approach that is applied daily to the majority of projects to produce architecture that is focused on leaving the built environment in the best possible conditions for future generations.  I am not as concerned about firm size (at this point) or whether it is a new or old firm. I would like to stay in the US unless someone has an amazing reason to go overseas. I am also considering heading back to my home town of Chicago (but not critical), so even if the most sustainable firms aren't in Chicago, what firms in Chicago would be considered the most progressive in their sustainability focus. Thank you for your assistance.

Jul 22, 13 4:00 pm

Safdie Architects

Jul 22, 13 4:04 pm  · 
 ·