Archinect
anchor

Odd Request...

Bandit3

Does anyone know where I could get some type of topo information on the DMZ of North and South Korea??  More specifically the JSA (Joint Security Area)?  I'm doing my thesis within this area and am finding it very difficult to find any info b/c of obvious undocumented security reasons.....

Thanks!

Jul 11, 13 5:41 pm
accesskb

or you can go make a site visit and document it.. Part of doing a thesis is contributing something everyone can benefit from in the future :)

Jul 11, 13 10:22 pm  · 
 · 
Bandit3

Haha @accesskb...that is a great idea, but unfortunately I don't see myself having the immediate timing, funding, or man power to fly all the way to Korea from America to survey x-acres and figure out the topography....maybe in a perfect world =).

Jul 11, 13 11:25 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ
You've opened Pandora's box... documenting the DMZ, if you even can get near it, would set you up for a thesis that you can discuss for years to come in interviews and with clients.

During my final semester I spent a month in China for research. It certainly helped me get an A and top 3 in my class. And yes, has helped in my current career path.
Jul 11, 13 11:36 pm  · 
 · 
Bandit3

Thanks for the encouraging words @LITS.  You bring up a good point and maybe it would be a great idea for me to make a site visit.  Luckily, I'm finishing up my 2nd yr in MARCH1 grad school so I still have another year or so before my thesis starts.  I should start planning accordingly for a site visit and hopefully the schedule will accommodate it.  I'm still wondering how I would survey that much ground and figure out the topography and specifics of that area......this could get dangerous haha. 

And yea, I was well aware of how loaded and intense this site could be...but of course that was one of the draws.  Seems this condition is so specific and fantastically horrific, so it really does hit home for me (b/c of my heritage).  Thanks for the motivation!