Archinect
anchor

sf to toronto

cjnubbins

Hi all,

I will possibly be moving to Toronto by year's end and would like any words of wisdom you have about relocating there from San Francisco. I've taken a look at the firm suggestions posted on here and welcome any more suggestions. Otherwise, I'm interested in knowing more about actually living in Toronto, compared to San Francisco.

How cold are the winters really and how long does it last?

How's the public transit system in the city?

How much is rent for a one-bedroom apartment?

What salary should I expect if I have 3 years of experience in an architecture office?

I know taxes are much higher in Canada than here - how does this impact you?

What is the likelihood of obtaining a visa?

Answer to any of the above would be incredibly helpful as I research the feasibility of my move. Also, any additional information is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Jun 17, 08 4:38 pm
bowling_ball

I haven't lived in San Francisco, but I can tell you a few things about Toronto (I lived there for 5+ years)

----->How cold are the winters really and how long does it last?

Much colder than San Fran, for sure, but not terrible. It doesn't regularly get below 0 F, but it does on occasion, so expect that (buy a wam coat and a hat and some gloves). Winter weather (ie snow) normally starts around late December, and lasts until mid or late March. We don't all live in igloos up here. At least not since 2002, when we got electricity. ;)

----->How's the public transit system in the city?

Quite good. It's not NY but the subway system usually gets you where you need to go. There are streetcars as well (many with dedicated lanes). You don't need a car in Toronto. Major street routes are 24 hours, subway goes until 1 or 2 am, depending. The only annoyance are the regular strikes that happen, thanks to the douche who heads the union.

----->How much is rent for a one-bedroom apartment?