Archinect
anchor

An Amatuer

mightygoose

hey,

i am a physics student at cardiff university, i happen to play simcity four, because of this i have developed a keen interest in architecture appreciation, also i do model a few structures for use in the game, is there anywhere i can sort of teach myself the basics, like putting together projects (those boards and the like) and also the theory, are there any must have books or websites... i can design bits but they are nothing more than meaningless 3d doodles, i could never tell you anything about how they apply to any use or site. if it helps my favourite architect would have to be Antonio Sant'Elia.

thanks

john

May 31, 08 1:12 am
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

the basics take five years of study, and they aren't too much like simcity.

if you just want to develop your interest in architecture, you could look at something like Unwin's Analyzing Architecture.

May 31, 08 1:50 am  · 
 · 
SDR

Speaking as a fellow amateur, and risking both our necks in these woods, I'd advise you to do your best to copy the work of architects, past or present, that you admire. This is likely to a) produce better results than you could hope to achieve at present on your own, and b) begin to teach you something of architectural design, at least in terms of exterior appearance.

Good luck !

May 31, 08 1:51 am  · 
 · 
idiotwind

passion burns thought into your mind. i just say good luck

May 31, 08 3:36 am  · 
 · 
mightygoose

@ agfa8x simcity was merely my explanation of the origin of my interest, and an explanation that i had some design experience, be it very freeform and unconstrained....

some of my work shots....

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z124/mightygoose_2007/megaindustry-1.jpg

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z124/mightygoose_2007/tolsongallery5.jpg

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z124/mightygoose_2007/tolsongallery3.jpg

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z124/mightygoose_2007/IMAX9newrender.jpg