Archinect
anchor

Help Me See The Larger Picture

BuiLi

Hi all,

I've been working as a newbie intern architect for the past 1 1/2 yrs and I'm frustrated with not being able to see the whole picture of the architecture profession.
I am often given a task to do such as to put together certain sheets for the CD set, or work out a spreadsheet....but most of the time I don't know where the tasks that I am doing fit into the larger picture of the project. The project architects that I work with are very nice in trying to explain to me what the purpose of each task is, but often they are too busy with trying to move the project along.

Can anybody recommend any books or publications that I read to get a better grasp of the profession (Besides Architect's Professional Pratice) that would explain the sequencing of what to do at each phase of the project? A book about the case study of a specific project that focuses more on the business and administration side rather than the design would be great.
Any suggestions?

Apr 21, 08 12:37 pm
marmkid

maybe you need to go work somewhere where it is important to them to help you gain experience

or sit down with your boss and ask how you can learn more

Apr 21, 08 12:48 pm  · 
 · 
4arch

After 1.5 years in an office your boss should be giving you broader experience. That said, even with pretty broad-based experience in an office, there were still some things I didn't learn about office and project administration until I started studying for the ARE's. Tho could always pick up the study guide for the CD ARE exam and read it over. You could also read over the AIA contracts (with commentary), particularly Owner/Architect and Owner/Contractor.

Apr 21, 08 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
whistler

It takes time, picking a smaller office is definitely better than a large one, try and get into different project types and sit in on meetings to take notes, it gives you an opportunity to see more of the business side.