Archinect
anchor

My concern with my job

liruo

I graduated from Sciarc last fall. I did worked as an intern during school for 8 months, and I find this job right away after I graduated. It's a 120 ppl firm in downtown LA.

The problem I have is they switch me around projects a lot, although they did assign me to a project at the beginning. The work they want me to do is mostly coloring elevations, 3D modeling and physical models. I don't like these jobs because I think they are so easy but time consuming. I want to work on more technical stuff that we don't do in school and that's how I can learn. What I hate the most is sometimes I have nothing to do. I am not a workaholic, but I do want my day to be filled with works. I did told the principle this, but he never did anything. It seems like I am the backup for whatever projects that need help when they are busy.

I don't know if this is most graduates experience, but I can tell you I don't like it. Any comments on this? I thought is to find a another job at a smaller office, or should I wait longer?

Apr 14, 08 9:29 pm
med.

Welcome to the club man.

Apr 14, 08 10:06 pm  · 
 · 
dml955i

suck it up buttercup...

you're having the typical experience for someone fresh out of school working for a large firm. however, if you excel at the tasks they're giving you, than you'll likely to climb the ladder faster and be given more responsibility (eventually).

otherwise, working for a smaller office may expose you to a variety of tasks and be a more meaningful experience to you.

I would stick it out for at least a year before moving on.

Apr 14, 08 10:33 pm  · 
 · 
liberty bell

It does sound like a typical beginning intern experience!! The question is: will, through effort on your part, your experience there get better, or will you hit a brick wall if you try? In a large firm (120 is big) thre should be plenty of opportunity to move upward, the problem will be getting people above you to give you the opportunity.