Archinect
anchor

Things to See and Do in Austin

mad+dash

hey everyone,
long time no post. thought it was time to get back in to it. I looked through old postings about Austin and couldn't find anything other than stuff about UT and their M. Arch.

What should I look into for this weekend in terms of cool architecture, food, and activities? It's my first time in Texas, I'm scared.

Apr 10, 08 2:17 am
Sarah Hamilton

Whats so scary about Texas?

Apr 10, 08 9:18 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

wish I was in Austin
In the Chili Parlour Bar
Drinkin' Mad Dog Margaritas
And not carin' where you are

But here I sit in Dublin
Just rollin' cigarettes
Holdin' back and chokin' back
The shakes with every breath

Chorus

Forgive me all my anger
Forgive me all my faults
There's no need to forgive me
For thinkin' what I thought
I loved you from the git go
I'll love you till I die
I loved you on the Spanish steps
The day you said goodbye

I am just a poor boy
Work's my middle name
If money was a reason
I would not be the same

I'll stand up and be counted
I'll face up to the truth
I'll walk away from trouble
But I can't walk away from you

I have been to Fort Worth
I have been to Spain
I have been to proud
To come in out of the rain

I have seen the David
I've seen the Mona Lisa too
I have heard Doc Watson
Play Columbus Stockade Blues

Apr 10, 08 9:58 am  · 
 · 
chupacabra

Austin doesn't have Texans anymore...it is all Californians and those from the upper midwest and northeast who wanted a liberal island that doesn't freeze so often.

Go spend some time around auditorium shores...lots of new buildings and landscaping that is nice around there all the way to Zilker...and if you have some extra time make it out to Llano and eat some Coopers BBQ...best in the world...Enchanted Rock is about 30 minutes from there if you want to get a nice hike in too.

enjoy, it is a nice place...I really doubt you will be disappointed or scared...and learn to say ya'll.

Apr 10, 08 10:43 am  · 
 · 
ross