Archinect
anchor

IDP progress

I thought it might be interesting to see how people compare in terms of IDP progress. No specifics like how many units of this category and that category you might have.

I've been working for a firm for the last 9 months or so right out of grad school and worked for 2 other firms while in school, once for a summer job and another part-time 20 hr weeks for 2 yrs while in grad school. Given the total number of units required, which is 700 for someone w/ a professional degree, I'm roughly 2/3 of the way finished. From what I've heard from co-workers who are licensed or finished w/ IDP, it can often be the case where one fills up a lot of useful units and then towards the end has a really hard time getting the categories that are harder, to come by (ie: cost analysis, bidding and contract negoiation, site observation).

But anyway, I thought this could be kind of a useful entry to see how some experiences compare to others in terms of diversity in IDP progression. So, for those of you that are still enrolled in IDP, how do you stand? For those that have completed IDP, how long did everything take and do you feel prepared to take the ARE once you've met all requirements?

Apr 7, 08 1:57 pm
holz.box

service hours suck my a**

Apr 7, 08 2:11 pm  · 
 · 
mantaray

sorry, yo yo yo, but you can't count part-time work unless it fits some kind of crazy requirements... can't remember what they are, but I can tell you that my 20hours/week during school did *not* count. Also, you can't count any full-time work unless you do it continuously for more than 13 weeks -- which usually rules out most summer jobs. Happened to me, too. In fact the large majority of my office experience has not counted. If I looked at experience counted percentage, it would probably be somewhere around 10% or something.

...which explains why I am many years out of school but only have about 1.5 years logged. Rargh.

Apr 7, 08 2:13 pm  · 
 · 
Bloopox