Archinect
anchor

Quitting before contract is up?

bentply2

I have been working at a firm for approximately 8 months and am almost half way through the contract that I signed as I accepted the position. I have had no intentions of breaking the contract. My reasoning for leaving does not involve a bad work environment or a horrible job, I have just decided to try a few routes outside of the architectural field.

Does anyone know the legal ramifications of quitting a job before the contract is up? I work at a small residential firm. I think I might be able to do this or maybe pay back software training hours?

I hate to be in a situation where I am leaving a firm before my contract, as I would like to stay on good terms with my current employer.

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Mar 31, 08 10:13 pm
spark

Think about the ramifications to your personal integrity.

You made a COMMITMENT and signed a CONTRACT.

These are important words.

If you leave, make sure its worth it.

Mar 31, 08 10:36 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

First, read your copy of the contract. What does it say about termination?

"According to labor laws, if you have an "at-will" contract, your employer may fire you or change the terms of the contract at his will, i.e., without any reason (so long as his reason does not involve illegal discrimination). And you can quit any time you like. Contrast this with a contract for a specified period of time, where you cannot be fired without just cause and cannot quit during that period.

If there is no express agreement regarding the length of time of the contract, it is generally presumed to be at-will."

If you signed up for a specific amount of time written into the contract, this may not apply.

Again, read your copy. The ramifications will (or should) be spelled out.

Mar 31, 08 10:37 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

You could be in the clear legally, depending...

But as for staying on good terms with your current employer? Don't count on that part of it.