Archinect
anchor

Any kind of work without experience/education

Luke.Kakizaki

Hey archinectites,

I am a freshman at University of Washington (Seattle). I came here because they have a really connections with Japan and that's my direction. But I'm really fixed to become an architect, i love architecture, i don't think I would be happy with any other profession. I guess that would be like the majority of the people here, if not all. Anyways, so after graduation with a BA in architectural studies, I think I'll go to MARCH school somewhere more prestigious.

I'm going off track. The reason I wanted to post is because ... ok here's my situation. I'm out-of-state, so its like ridiculously expensive for me..SO! I am going to take a year off, work, and get washington state residency (in state tution). So I guess I can work making coffee for a year or something, but I really want to do anything related to architecture.

Do you think it's even possible for me to get any kind of work in an architecture firm? Is it even worth a try? I have a 4.0 gpa, took some drawing classes, but nothing "architectural". Oh, well in high school I had an architect mentor. I mean, I can work for minimum wage, I just want the experience. i donno, i can make copies or run errands and stuff.

So my question is! like, without any formal architecture experience or education, is there any way i can still wiggle my way into an architect firm?

Any comments would be highly appriciated! thanks everyone

Mar 28, 08 11:50 am
mkell

I'm in the same boat as you. All I want is to just get in somewhere and do whatever for sake of experiencing a professional environment.

Mar 28, 08 1:35 pm  · 
 · 
marmkid