Archinect
anchor

Internship in Australia

epperj

I'm a student from switzerland (3rd year now) and somehow I'm interested in doing an internship in Australia (anything between 6 month and a year). It is mandatory at my school to have a 12 months work experience to get the masters degree (is it the same everywhere?), so I thought spending some time abroad could be a good idea.
I did a quick research on the internet on some information about internships in Australia, but it was kind of hard to find anything at all. So I was wondering about working conditions for interns, about the salary, what sort of work an intern usually does, which cities could be recomended, which australian architects..?...or maybe first of all: is it common to do internships at all?:)
I suppose it should be about the same as in europe/usa, just would like to hear something about it, and be sure before I take any further steps...
any info is appreciated:) thanks.

Mar 24, 08 11:17 am
n_

Scroll down to the bottom of the discussion page and you will find a SEARCH box. Type in Australia in the box and you'll find some links to past threads that discuss this. I hope that helps.

Mar 24, 08 1:11 pm  · 
 · 
epperj

thanks, that helped.. found some practice's websites, and some general info about working conditions
but i was hoping to get something more internship related..

Mar 24, 08 2:53 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

OMG, i'm seeing double!!!!

Mar 24, 08 4:37 pm  · 
 · 
epperj

right, sorry about that..didnt check carefully enough

Mar 24, 08 6:20 pm  · 
 · 

when i was in australia (now 7 years ago, mind) internships were not required and not often done. i actually did work at offices throughout my studies and was earning basically the same as when i finished.
there is the term architect graduate that applies to someone who have finished there masters but not sat the exams to be registered.