Archinect
anchor

Traveling to Europe, looking for ideas...

jdathela

Hello Archinecters! Long time lurker, first time poster.

I'm heading to Europe for six weeks this spring, and hoping to get some input from the Archinect community as to where the good sites are. I'm a landscape architect who's particularly interested in urban design. That said, I'm looking forward to seeing as many different sites as possible. My itinerary is as follows, with potential sites listed beneath:

Rome
The Colosseum
The Pantheon
Piazza del Campo
Villa Medici at Rome
Villa Medici at Fiesole

Athens
The Acropolis
Santorini

Prague
?

Barcelona
Soccer game! (assuming I live through that...)

Paris
Louvre
Eiffel Tower
Versailles

London
British Museum

Some of those are pretty obvious choices. I'd also love to see out of the way, off the beaten path type of things. Any type of historically or culturally significant landscape, architecture, or urban design would be of interest to me.

Post away!

Thanks in advance for the suggestions!

Mar 22, 08 12:28 pm
d-arch

You need these books:

A&D Paris

le Cool Changed My Life: A Weird and Wonderful Guide to Barcelona

Mar 22, 08 1:57 pm  · 
 · 
randomized

Come to Holland. If you're interested in 'modern' landscape arch and urbanism. Check West8 on the web and plan a tour along their projects, also to see the failures can be helpful, go to Almere Holland's urbanism experiment from like 80's garden city stuff to 21st century starchitecture attempts by Sanaa, OMA, Alsop etc. And go to Rótterdam, home of OMA & MVRDV among others and check e.g. R'dam Kop v. Zuid (walk across UN Studio's Erasmusbridge). And go to Amsterdam, skip the red-light bullshit and coffeeshops but go to the new developments in the Ij-river, like KNSM and Java islands and Borneo Sporenburg (masterplan West 8)

anyhow if you're into urbanism and landscape architecture, you have to come to Holland, it's all man-made/designed.

Mar 22, 08 2:31 pm  · 
 · 
Ron Nichols

Portugal