Archinect
anchor

Should I buy organic milk? It's $5 for a half gallon!

on my way

I know this has nothing to do with architecture, but I'm a designer and I'm finally making some money and I'm therefore faced with new decisions... like whether or not I should be buying organic milk for $5 a half gallon, or for that matter, all the other organic foods that are like double the price...

I know it's the right thing to do conceptually, and it's probably somewhat better for my health, but really, if I took all that extra money for organic foods and donated it to a charity for starving children (or to Brad Pitt so he can build more houses in New Orleans), wouldn't I be doing the world a much better service? I know it would take discipline to actually save the extra money, but I could just calculate the difference in my monthly food spending for organic vs. normal and then donate that amount every month...

And this brings up another general question: How much should I give to charity in general? I know there are some ratios or averages available that say how much people give - but I never feel like those things actually apply to me. Thinking about an annual amount I should be giving away leaves me perplexed, because for so long I've been in the mindset of struggle... of trying to make enough money just to pay the rent. I volunteer in a local school 2 days a week and I always give $25 or $50 when I get a request in the mail from a cancer charity or the red cross or whatever, but should I also seeing ways go give more...?

Mar 9, 08 2:02 pm
mdler

milk is for pansys

Mar 9, 08 2:03 pm  · 
 · 
MArch n' unemployed

i love milk, i don't love hormones....buy organic

Mar 9, 08 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
Emilio

is this an architectural thread? ;D

Mar 9, 08 2:52 pm  · 
 · 
n_

Whole Foods = Whole Paycheck

Mar 9, 08 3:13 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

what is a pansys?

Mar 9, 08 3:42 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro