Archinect
anchor

Web Design

swamprat

I am an Architect who is designing a website what should I charge an hour?

Feb 28, 08 6:24 pm
cracker

so you're an architect, not a web designer.
you don't know what to charge.

are you qualified to design a website and charge for it? considering the above i would recommend you bid really low and use it as a learning experience.

Feb 28, 08 6:30 pm  · 
 · 
chupacabra

and people get mad at IT people calling themselves Information Architects...heh...now we have architects masquerading as web designers? From the websites I have seen that firms have done in house...you need to go low. I was billed out at $175 an hour as a web designer back in 1997...but it was not something I "did on the side"...how many sites have you done? What is the technology being used? Is there interactive coding needed (javascript, etc) can you do it? Is there a database being tied into the site? And if so, again - can you do it?

There is a lot to consider before coming up with an hourly fee. First you need a solid project scope...or you will get scope creep and waste your and your clients time and money.

Feb 28, 08 6:49 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

swamp, as you are reading this you are billing. Right?

Feb 28, 08 10:13 pm  · 
 · 
mespellrong

just do some wireframes and a flowchart of the finished site, then bill them 5% of the total cost of operating the business.

Feb 28, 08 10:53 pm  · 
 · 
ryanj

whatever you do don't make it look like this
monstrosity!

Feb 28, 08 11:09 pm  · 
 · 
swamprat

Yes I have done websites before when I was in undergrad. First one outside of school. It is a side project since architects make absolute shit for money. Using Flash and others. Don't want to get screwed for money like every architect does.

Feb 29, 08 10:12 am  · 
 · 
now we have architects masquerading as web designers?

he didn't say he was a web designer, jc, just that he was designing a website.

Feb 29, 08 10:19 am  · 
 · 
chupacabra