Archinect
anchor

Pros/Cons of L-shaped Desk?

phased

After two years of undergraduate study on the same desk I've been using since I was 10 years old, I've decided it's time for an upgrade.

As a student, money is a bit of a constraint, so I've been looking into Ikea's 'Galant' desk series. The price seems to be quite reasonable, and I've heard mainly good things about the desks themselves.

Without getting into much detail about the environment the desk will be placed in (because I doubt it will be there for very long), I would like to hear about people's experiences with L-shaped desks? You know - the desks where the laptop/monitor supposed to be placed in the corner of the L?

The reason I ask is, having never used anything but straight desks, I can't decide between buying a nice long setup or one which runs in the shape of an L?

FYI, I spend most of my time at the desk on my laptop, but I do also need space (1000mm +) for book work and drawing. My proposed computer setup will entail a MacBook Pro, adjacent ~23" monitor, keyboard and mouse - so the workstation will obviously have to cater for this, plus the additional drawing space.

I think I've come to the conclusion that desktop real estate is my primary objective - ie. the bigger the better.

On that note, here are two setups that I'm considering at the moment: one is long and straight, the other is making use of the L.

Laptop & monitor are there just to give you a vague idea of proportion and the sort of setup I'd like to achieve.

My primary concern with the L-shaped desk is the apparent dead space (behind the monitors in corner, the rounded end to the left of the laptop, etc.) whereas nearly all of the space on the long/straight setup is accessible. I'm also a little concerned that the far left legs may interfere with my chair positioning behind the monitors