Archinect
anchor

passion for architecture

sisforscoop

I was wondering, all architects out there, how has your passion for architecture changed since you graduated. Was it something that you loved, and still love it; or has it ever became just a job now? Did you ever lose all interest?

Also how does your education compare to your current job? More exciting and rewarding or is it just more stressful?

I am a first year student and during the whole year I have been up and down on whether I am going the right direction...I love designing and the feeling I get when I see something that is an amazing design. However there are other things I am interested in such as being a teacher and working with kids. Teachers with zero years experience in my area in the suburbs of Houston start at 43,000 a year...a year meaning not working summers. And then I read about architects making less than this with MUCH more schooling, stress , long hours..etc. and I wonder if I should do something else that I like.

Anyone have any advice?

Feb 15, 08 7:25 pm
supercity

Architectural education and architectural practise can be very different. You should be more focused on engineering than on designing in most offices. The design is either defined by the principals or an army of busy interns producing millions of design alternatives. Fact is, between 25 and 35 years (at least) you will work mainly 45 hours a day on the computer (2D or 3D drafting, filling excel spreadsheets, tendering, writing protocol, etc,) From 35 years on you can climb up hierarchy and get project manager (of course only in large offices). That will be a more managing job.
So personally, I am still passionate about architecture but as a job it's nasty. You rather "communicate" with the computer than with people..

Feb 16, 08 4:31 am  · 
 · 
21Ronin