Archinect
anchor

Zipcar in LA = Dissappointment

jackjood

I have been a resident in West LA for the past two years, and have been living and working here without an automobile for the last year and a half. I realize that it is impractical for everyone to live as I do - cycling and bussing to get where I need to go, living in a location where everything I need is within a close distance - but feel very passionately that a strongly auto-reliant culture carries with it many negative and unhealthy consequences.

Last year, I joined Flexcar, a car-sharing program based out of Portland. The shared cars were extremely helpful for personal errands that demanded greater flexiblity or larger loads to be hauled (doctor's appointments, trips to the hardware store, etc.). Flexcar had many cars throughout the greater Los Angeles area, including several in my area of town. Everything was great, and I had felt that I had adequately proven that one can lead a normal life in LA without owning an automobile.

Recently, Zipcar, a car-sharing program based out of Boston, has bought out Flexcar, and has brought their brand and ownership policies to Southern California. Flexcar members were made aware of the aquisition at the end of last year, and were welcomed by Zipcar to seemlessly switch their Flexcar plan to a comparable Zipcar plan. I followed suit, joining Zipcar two weeks ago, and waiting for the folks at Zipcar to transition the old Flexcars to new Zipcars.

However, unfortunately, I received the following email this morning:

Jack,

Car sharing is an evolving category of transportation, and we are working hard to pioneer the industry. We are constantly learning more about the best way to operate our service, and sometimes what we learn results in a tough decision.

In Southern California, we have decided to remove our vehicles from areas outside of the universities we serve (cars will remain at UCLA, USC, Pomona, UCSB, UCSD and UCI).