Archinect
anchor

Thoughts on leaving a decent job at a small firm

Jefferson

I have been entertaining the idea of leaving a good/decent job at the smallish firm (20 ppl) I work at. This firm does only university work, and is top heavy in terms of designers. I feel that once I am done with CA on the current project I am on, I will not be able to contribute much to the early design of the next project I am on, b/c of how the firm is....
I am very interested in doing some multi-family or single family residential, and this is not a typology this firm would ever do.
Also, I have no experience in residential.
Am I completely stupid to go off and try to find a project and then quit my full time job to work on this project, which would hopefully lead into something else? What are people's experiences with finding work in smaller projects? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jan 9, 08 11:52 am
aquapura

With the whole housing downturn your timing might be a wee bit off. Then again, life's short, go for it.

Jan 9, 08 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

jefferson

this is how a majority of people brach off on their own. I would try to get some little projects on the side that are manageable. Work on them at night / weekends.

Do this until you have built up enough body of your own work so that you can get bigger jobs...

Jan 9, 08 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
el jeffe

what aquapura said - i'd be cautious about jumping ship and/or trying to start a practice right now. everything is pretty much pointing towards a recession....
i would however highly suggest starting to moonlight residential projects.

Jan 9, 08 1:03 pm  · 
 · 
Jefferson

Thanks for the comments.
How have people gotten small residential jobs, in your own experiences?

Jan 9, 08 1:07 pm  · 
 · 
TIQM