Archinect
anchor

Hello.....and Swiss Travel Suggestions

mike de

I wanted to first say whats up. I've been 'stalking' this website for a while now, so I figured I'd contribute. Maybe I'll even have to post my pic in the other thread.

The real reason: I'm going to Switzerland in late Feb. to visit two friends, one in Geneva, one in Luzern. My degree is in Landscape Architecture, so my knowledge of architectural landmarks is limited to what I've learned on my own (and a one semester arch. class). Do any of you guys have some suggestions of buildings/plazas/etc. I should definitely see when I'm there? thanks so much.

p.s.-This may be in the wrong forum, so sorry in advance.

Jan 2, 08 9:39 pm
holz.box

will you only be in luzern & genf?

one of the top landscape arch firms in CH vogt landschaftarchitekten (formerly kienast/vogt)

there might be some useful info here (note, a lot of arch. firms do public spaces):
luzern-LA
luzern-arch

genf - LA
genf - arch

there is some architecture in luzern worth visiting, and there will have been collaborations w/ top Larch firms...

luzern:
KKL, nouvel
sbb bahnhof, calatrava (adjacent to KKL)
rigihof pavilion, gigon_guyer
museum of transportation, gigon_guyer

genf:
deutsche schule genf, soliman zurkirchen
fabrik vacheron constatin, tschumi
red cross museum, pierre zoelly
schul- und freizeitzentrum, devanthéry & lamunière
Garten Fondation Jeantet, Domino Architectes
school in Cressy, devanthéry & lamunière

Jan 2, 08 10:08 pm  · 
 · 
ether
jungfraujoch
Jan 3, 08 12:25 am  · 
 · 
holz.box

also... the roger diener migros in luzern...

Jan 3, 08 2:24 am  · 
 · 

if you have a day or two to spare, i would try to make it to Basel. It it might be a long haul from geneva or lucern, but might be worth a trip.