Archinect
anchor

UK Architect seeks help/information on moving to USA

Edp

I am a fully qualified architect based in the North of England and am currently thinking of moving to work in New York City and would like any information on; who not to work for, salaries in the USA, minimum holiday entitlement, benefits, basically all there is to know about being an architect in America. If there are any likely employers on-line please do not hesitate to contact me.
Thanks
Slothman

Dec 28, 07 3:15 pm
holz.box

you should do a job swap.

Dec 28, 07 3:45 pm  · 
 · 
starrchitect

The way the country is right now, you're better off staying in England.

I'd wait another year, until the village idiot is done with his second term before moving here.

Also, please try another city in the US that isn't New York. Trust me on that one.

Dec 28, 07 4:43 pm  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

Are you paying off any UK-based student loans? Keep in mind that the US dollar isn't worth peanuts compared to the pound, and you may find yourself unable to make your payments.

Besides, we may be headed for a recession here... Lots of NY firms are looking for help, but I don't know how long that will last.

Dec 28, 07 4:54 pm  · 
 · 
Antisthenes

/me would like to go the other dirrection

Dec 28, 07 5:55 pm  · 
 · 
Chase Dammtor

Let's see, it all depends on your experience level. But if you're just finishing school (i.e. under 30 years old) you would be likely to get $30,000 in yearly salary (with no benefits or insurance, also don't forget to subtract 40% off of that for income tax) and you will get about 2 weeks paid holidays, but you will be pressured by your boss to not use all of your two weeks.

Dec 28, 07 8:55 pm  · 
 · 
Edp