Archinect
anchor

Essential Student Reads..

phased

I'm in the market for a few new titles - for reference, I'm a second year architecture student in Australia.

A book already on my list is:
* 101 Things I Learned in Architecture School - Matthew Frederick (seems highly appropriate for me, and comes with strong recommendations)

I will also be looking into collecting one or two Francis Ching books (recommendations welcomed - quite a few exist! I already own Design Drawing) and some texts from the famed Birkhäuser Publishers:
* Constructing Architecture: Materials, Processes, Structures (Paperback)
- Andrea Deplazes
* any others?

I'm also interested in hearing any feedback on Simon Unwin's texts:
Analysing Architecture & An Architecture Notebook.

As a young student, I'd love to get my hands on a few 'cornerstone' texts that I can base my learning around and begin my collection of books - a 'bible' or two of architecture if you will (is my search a little ambitious? perhaps..).

Any input is welcomed and greatly appreciated.

Dec 27, 07 8:59 am
phased

I'm also considering:
- Peter Zumthor's Thinking Architecture
- Rem Koolhaas' S M L XL
- 10X10, 10X10_2
- Francis D. K. Ching's Architectural Graphics

Dec 27, 07 9:01 am  · 
 · 
won and done williams

one of my all-time favs is ed ford's "details of modern architecture." the drawings are spectacular. will make you never want to touch cad again.

one word of warning that i didn't understand until much later. the details in the book are not meant to be cribbed. he is telling a story about modern architecture through its detailing. you can learn a lot about detailing from the book, but it is more a history than it is a practical tool.

Dec 27, 07 9:16 am  · 
 · 
db

why architects draw by ed robbins
in the scheme of things by tom fisher

Dec 27, 07 9:35 am  · 
 · 
Jah is my Co-pilot

ARCHITECTURE IN THE DIGITAL AGE: DESIGN AND MANUFACTURING
by Branko Kolarevic

Dec 27, 07 11:09 am  · 
 · 
vado retro