Archinect
anchor

Does your structural engineer drive you nuts?

JsBach

I am fairly new to my office and basicly supposed to be an intern. I am anal about coordination of drawings however. My PM is so overburdened that he can't really even look at the drawings but still won't delegate.

We are having huge coordination issues with our structural engineer. We are already under construction and still don't have the basic dimensions of the building coordinated. Things like column lines and even the basic perimeter of the building shell having the same configuration.

I ask around to some of the other PM's and they say the structural guys don't care because they have more work than they could ever do. I have no clout to even tell the structural to match our plans so drawings are issued wrong. Part of the problem is we don't ever see a drawing from structural till the afternoon of issue, which leaves no time for fixing mistakes on either end. Its a big no-no in our office to extend deadlines as well, they would rather issue wrong drawings and "fix it when the shop drawings come". If the people can't coordinate the drawings I doubt they have the smarts to check the shop drawings.

I guess I am just venting, not asking for advice. I feel I am working for a bunch of hacks. I am learning some things as its my first time doing actual building shells, but I feel my days are numbered. I just can't stand doing shoddy work.

Dec 22, 07 6:03 pm
spark

in a word, yes. Most engineers have the capacity to frustrate an architect. Point out to your pm that there are coordination issues that you think you could resolve if given the opportunity to.
Frequently, the best coordination occurs at a peer level - intern to intern, PM to PM, etc.

As a general rule, the architect should be the one to establish the building footprint and the column grid with input from the structural.