Archinect
anchor

Interview Question

On Friday I have my first interview in an office for a drafting position. I graduated last May with my B.Arch. Due to the lack of a job & desire to keep up my working momentum, the last several months I worked tirelessly on my portfolio & applied to graduate programs (mostly MS Arch post professional degrees). None of the schools are in the same city I currently live, so working for this office while in school isn't really an option.

My question: Do I have an obligation to inform my possible future employer that I may go back to school in several months?

I do not want to be dishonest because getting my masters is a goal of mine yet I realize exposing this information may hinder my chances of getting the job.

I'm leaning towards being straightforward & letting him know my circumstances but any opinions or advice would be much appreciated.

Feb 27, 13 8:12 am

You're leaning in the right direction.  The more honest and straight-forward you can be, the better.

The real question I'd have, is if you see working as an alternative to further education, or something to do in the summer before going back to school.  

If you're true intent is to pursue the MS, than sure, it might hinder your chances, but describing it as something you were doing partly in response to the lack of a job, it could be the case that you take the job instead of going to school.

If you can answer this for yourself first, I think you can frame the conversation much better for the interview.

Feb 27, 13 9:51 am  · 
 · 
med.

"My question: Do I have an obligation to inform my possible future employer that I may go back to school in several months?"

No.

Feb 27, 13 9:52 am  · 
 · 
med.