Archinect
anchor

Survey - Firm leaders with MBA's

marlowe

I'm trying to assemble a report which will hopefully convince my employer to pay for me to return to school and obtain an MBA.

I'm including in my report a survey of medium-large (100+ employees) to see which firm leaders posess a MBA or some advanced degree in management or finance.

SO, if anyone out there knows which CEO's, principals and the like of well known firms, have an MBA or management training, please post here.

Thanks!

Nov 20, 07 5:34 pm
quizzical

I have an MBA and am the CEO of our firm -- but our firm is considerably smaller than the size you seek for your research.

One caution: you probably should not expect your employer to pay for your MBA without some significant strings attached to that expenditure. I've seen a number of such cases -- and in all such cases the employer expects that you agree to work for the firm for X number of years after you obtain your degree, or pay back a substantial amount of their investment if you leave before X. In my experience X usually = 5.

When I headed off to MBA school, my employer offered me a deal like that. With great trepidation, I elected not to take them up on their offer, even though at the time I really did intend to return to the firm once I obtained my degree and I was terribly short of cash.

As it turned out, my time in MBA school radically changed my world view and immediately after graduation I went another direction for a while. I was very glad that I had not indentured myself to my employer at the time I headed off to grad school.

The thing about an MBA is that it opens up many possibilities for you in other fields -- possibilities that are both related and unrelated to architecture. Be absolutely sure you will be happy with the entanglements if you decide to let your employer pay for your education.

Good luck.

Nov 20, 07 6:49 pm  · 
 · 
bhardy